Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
March 28, 2024, 10:12:05 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Near or in break-up mode?
What Does it Take to Be in a Relationship
Is Your Relationship Breaking Down?
Escaping Conflict and the Karpman Drama Triangle
Emotional Blackmail: Fear, Obligation and Guilt (FOG)
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tips for dealing with resentment  (Read 353 times)
IsSheBpdHelp

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« on: August 31, 2016, 09:30:01 PM »

I am new to the this forum, and as one poster said, I'm drinking from the fire hose... .  I can honestly say that I have not been properly equipped with validation, empathetic listening, or firm boundaries, but I have always tried very hard to understand my wife when she would turn on me (which always happens when our relationship peaks).  Sometimes I handled it well and dodged the bullet, and sometimes I just did not have the mental energy/capacity and things go badly.

Despite learning so much over the past few days about her failure to deal with her emotions, I just feel so much resentment from all of the verbal abuse, failed outings, projection, and gas lighting over the years.  I just do not know how how I am going to be patient enough to ignore being told "You NEVER... .", "You ALWAYS ... ", or "You're an !@#$%" and instead find a way to validate her.  How do you do it?  And when you know she will never get an apology, how do NOT form resentment?
RELATIONSHIP PROBLEM SOLVING