Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
March 28, 2024, 08:15:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: 1   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My mother may have BPD and is moving in with us  (Read 496 times)
KAlways

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent

« on: October 15, 2018, 01:09:27 PM »

Hi there, I'm new to this message board after my therapist mentioned my mother being/having traits of BPD. A bit of brief background: I am 33, married for 3 years, currently 8 months pregnant with our first child and my mother is 63. My father, her spouse of 27 years, died by suicide in 2009. I have to say looking back that her behavior really tipped off after my father's passing. I think she may have had some childhood trauma that she coped with somewhat, but the trauma of my father's passing really opened up Pandora's box. For the most part of the past 9+ years we've coped and lived relatively normal lives, but as of this coming spring she will be moving in with us which has caused a lot of problems between us.