Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 24, 2024, 01:56:40 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Books most popular with members
Stop Caretaking the
Borderline or the Narcassist
Stop Walking
on Eggshells
Journey from
Abandonment to Healing
The Search for Real Self
Unmasking Personality Disorders

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: New To BPDFamily  (Read 383 times)
ConcernedFather
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Ex-romantic partner

« on: May 10, 2019, 06:09:36 PM »

Hi,

This is my first time posting on this forum. I have a 4-month-old son with my ex-girlfriend, who I recently discovered likely has BPD. I caught her in some massive lies and after doing some research, I thought she might be a pathological liar with Narcissistic Personality Disorder. After speaking with a therapist, they told me she likely has BPD. On the therapist's advice, I read "Stop Walking On Eggshells", so I have a basic understanding of BPD.

I don't live with her, but have to interact with her constantly because we are raising a son together. To say my relationship with her is challenging would be an understatement, but my main concern is how his mother's BPD is going to negatively impact my son.

Any advice I can get about how best to protect my son from any damage his mother could do would be much appreciated. I'd also love any advice about how I should deal with her, but my son's well-being is my focus.

Thanks
worriedStepmom

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner’s ex

« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2019, 11:34:10 AM »

Hello and welcome!  You'll find a lot of support here.