Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 20, 2024, 02:46:37 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Bad behaviour.  (Read 348 times)
Tweedledum

What is your sexual orientation: Confidential
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Child
Relationship status: Divorced

« on: March 26, 2023, 02:39:38 PM »

Im new to all of this but just wondered if when someone has BPD do you excuse unexpectable behaviour? Can one be too empathic?
Our objective is to better understand the struggles our child faces and to learn the skills to improve our relationship and provide a supportive environment and also improve on our own emotional responses, attitudes and effectiveness as a family leaders
kells76
BOARD ADMINISTRATOR

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner’s ex

« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2023, 01:50:32 PM »

Hi again Tweedledum, great question.

Sometimes, yes, people can confuse healthy validation ("validating the valid") with just blanket agreement or "free passes" ("validating the invalid"). "Oh, I can't give my BPD child any consequences for doing XYZ, because it's invalidating".