Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 05, 2024, 12:38:53 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Our abuse recovery guide
Survivor to Thriver | Free download.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Sister with BPD  (Read 420 times)
SClittlesister

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent
Relationship status: Married for 7yrs

« on: September 17, 2014, 12:04:12 AM »

Hi, I'm new to this. But here's a go. I'm a sister of a BPD sibling. She's my sister. I like to use the term "sister" loosely because I feel like she's only my sister because we have the same parents. She was diagnosed with this illness in her teens and I was just a child. I'm now 31 years old and she's 35. My whole childhood was complete chaos and very emotionally draining. I was mentally, verbally, and physically abused everyday until I finally got out when I was 19. I've been beaten, stabbed, and even chased with a gun. I have hard time having respect for my parents as I've gotten older because I now have a child and would never allow the things that have happened to me happen to her. I was never truly protected from her physically and it still carries with me til this day. I can't get over it. Its like don't worry about her, she has her head on straight, she excelled in school and music and has an outstanding family. She can take care of herself. Towards the end of my high school years I started changing. I constantly had panic attacks, passed out when I got overwhelmed, cried when I had to go home. I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder and PTSD. I'm now 31 and nothing has changed and its only gotten worse. My sister lives with my mother and father