Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 26, 2024, 02:34:26 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Survey: How do you compare?
Adult Children Sensitivity
67% are highly sensitive
Romantic Break-ups
73% have five or more recycles
Physical Hitting
66% of members were hit
Depression Test
61% of members are moderate-severe
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Do BPDs remember their outbursts the day after?  (Read 808 times)
JazzSinger

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner
Relationship status: Married

« on: July 15, 2023, 05:33:49 AM »

Hi,

I’m a newbie here. 

My husband is a BPD.  After outbursts that include put downs, name calling, and horrible,  false statements about me, the next day, he often claims he has no recollection of it.  If I repeat the things he said to me, he denies it, and becomes furious.  He usually ends up saying I’m trying to start an argument with him.  If he does remember the outburst, he somehow makes it my fault. 

During his outbursts, his eyes often appear to be glazed over, which is why I sometimes believe he’s in a daze, and doesn’t remember what he said.

Do BPDs typically have no memory of the things they’ve said during an outburst? 

Is he gaslighting me?

I’m confused. 

Thanks in advance for your comments. 
Notwendy

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent

« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2023, 11:00:48 AM »

My best response is, yes and no.