Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 22, 2024, 12:02:50 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Our abuse recovery guide
Survivor to Thriver | Free download.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First time setting a boundary went badly but I don't regret it  (Read 478 times)
anonsafe1
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Bisexual
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Sibling
Relationship status: sibling of pwBPD

« on: July 29, 2023, 11:24:17 PM »

Hi there, it's my first time posting. I wanted to share the story of the first time I set a boundary with my sibling, last month. I hope it can help others.

My younger sibling wBPD recently went through a breakup with a long-term partner they lived with, and I was there to bear the brunt of that (stayed at their house for a week, didn't do anything but go to work and take care of them, got info on hospitalization options, got my parents involved which was a huge difficult mess, etc). They moved to DC right after, but wanted to come back to NYC. I live in NYC. They would frequently ask me last-minute if they could stay at my place whenever they had scheduled and apartment viewing, but I'm a very very busy person who also values my privacy and sleep quality, so these are really big demands of me (especially since they refuse to sleep in the living room, and insist on sleeping in my bedroom). I wanted to be supportive though, so I would agree most times that they could sleep at my house (even though it was an intrusion -- also I have roommates to consider).