Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 01, 2024, 06:13:38 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Survey: How do you compare?
Adult Children Sensitivity
67% are highly sensitive
Romantic Break-ups
73% have five or more recycles
Physical Hitting
66% of members were hit
Depression Test
61% of members are moderate-severe
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Trying to make it work; I don’t know how to interrupt the cycle  (Read 502 times)
Atlanta91

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner
Relationship status: Dating

« on: November 30, 2019, 09:35:52 PM »

Hello! This is my first time posting. My male partner is a wonderful person –someone that I very much want to be with. But some of his behavior, paranoia, black/white thinking and abandonment/avoidance patterns have led me, him and my therapist/psychiatrist to suspect that he has BPD. He’s also dealing with a weed dependency and, more recently, is unemployed and has had to rely more on his parents. I love him a lot and have invested a lot of time, energy and emotional bandwidth to make this work. I believe it’s worth it. Lately, however, we find ourselves in a holding pattern. We have great period where we get along. Then something happens, usually he expects me to agree with him that something is unjust and he doesn’t feel supported by me and wants a partner that does support him. It’s the splitting behavior as I understand it. Then he threatens to break up and I get emotional.  After a while he “sobers up” and usually realizes he was being unfair and extreme. But it’s this exhausting cycle. And while I’m in it for the long haul, I don’t know how sustainable it is f