Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 27, 2024, 07:34:09 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Books most popular with members
Stop Caretaking the
Borderline or the Narcassist
Stop Walking
on Eggshells
Journey from
Abandonment to Healing
The Search for Real Self
Unmasking Personality Disorders

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Divorce, Legal Separation or Separation Agreement? Which one?  (Read 379 times)
michel71

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Ex-romantic partner

« on: January 05, 2017, 11:54:27 AM »

I am a lawyer. I live in California which is a community property state. I don't practice in the area of family law but generally know my rights/responsibilities. My question for you is one of STRATEGY.

By mutual decision my wife moved out. I need to legally protect myself. Community property by all accounts stopped as of the date she moved out. I am at the point of filing for either a legal separation or divorce. I could also take the route of a separation agreement which would be legally binding.

I am loath to file for divorce. I don't want to NEVER see my wife again. As much as she hurt me I am still able to "split" her into her good part and bad part. Not healthy but that is still where I am at. I love her. When she is not melting down  I enjoy her company. Sex is... .great. Basically I would like to keep her as a "girlfriend".