Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 29, 2024, 06:31:59 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Things we can't afford to ignore
Depression: Stop Being Tortured by Your Own Thoughts
Surviving a Break-up when Your Partner has BPD
My Definition of Love. I have Borderline Personality Disorder.
Codependency and Codependent Relationships
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: communicating feeling hurt?  (Read 379 times)
vanx

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Ex-romantic partner

« on: September 12, 2017, 06:31:07 PM »

This is my first time posting on the improving board. I have been on learning from the wounds for the majority of my time here. I still work with my ex and things have been a little tense at work, so she messaged me suggesting we meet up to talk. I weighed things, decided that could be beneficial, and accepted her offer.

She had a higher interest than I did discussing the issues of our interactions. At one point, she was remarking that if we were going to be friends (which is still pretty up in the air) she wanted me to be more honest, and essentially assertive with her. The thing is, when I tried to use my "I" statements in the past to let her know something hurt my feelings, she was pretty invalidating and told me I was inventing things that weren't there. So I have adjusted my expectations with her and just figure I will not get certain needs met or validation in a friendship with her, at least not with much consistency. I understand the difficulty she faces and I accept this reality.