Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 29, 2024, 07:58:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Things we can't ignore
What Does it Take to Be in a Relationship
Why We Struggle in Our Relationships
Is Your Relationship Breaking Down?
Codependency and Codependent Relationships
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help getting over BPD friend  (Read 404 times)
VMJ7675

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Friend

« on: January 22, 2019, 08:28:43 PM »

Hi— this is my first time posting and I’m just hoping somebody can help me feel better about my situation.  I just need to talk to others who might understand.  About 3 years I met a woman (actually met her bc she was helping to care for my kids).  Over time we got super close (completely plutonic... .I’ve been happily married for years).  She became my best friend but after a while I discovered she seem to be suffering from severe depression.   The depression was horrible. She would basically lock herself up in a room for weeks and didn’t want to come out, didn’t want to exercise or eat etc.   but at this point I cared about her very much and ended up being a caregiver a lot of the time but I really didn’t mind because she was such a cool person and I just wanted her to get better.   But over the next little while it started to be a real drain on my family. I still kept giving her everything I had to give because I wanted so badly for her to know what it was like to be part of a happy loving family and I knew she had a really incredible spirit.   But in the last number of months her behavior got really bizarre and I started to realize it was something more than just depression.