Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 15, 2024, 01:10:26 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What are the right words to say?  (Read 428 times)
BumbleBee83

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« on: August 08, 2018, 07:07:48 AM »

I'm just getting started with trying to break the pattern I have with my uBPD husband of trying to explain myself, defend myself, etc.  It's a terrible cycle, the "arguments" are insane and go far off course.  It clearly doesn't work.

So, my question is this.  In this specific instance, my husband and I are in an unfamiliar place and are trying to make a decision about how to get from point A to point B. 

We talk back and forth a little bit and he finally says, "lets just go this way".  (Background that would help is that "this way" is through the parking lot of a car rental place.  From where we are standing it is not possible to tell if the car rental place has a fence around it.  My immediate thought inside my head is that it would be foolish to walk all the way across and realize we can't get out because it is fenced.)  Before taking our first steps, I say, "is there a fence around it?"  At which point my husband gets very angry and proceeds to bash me verbally for 2 days about how I never have faith in him, how I'm his wife and I should just basically do what he says, that I have destroyed his faith in himself by questioning his every decision, those kinds of things.