Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 01, 2024, 01:37:11 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Popular books with members
Surviving a
Borderline Parent

Emotional Blackmail
Fear, Obligation, and Guilt
When Parents Make
Children Their Partners
Healing the
Shame That Binds You

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My Mother in law has BPD  (Read 1412 times)
TiredbutTrying13

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Inlaw

« on: September 28, 2017, 10:23:47 PM »

Hi all,

This is my first time discussing this in this type of forum, or really with a non friend/family member. Basically my Mother in law has BPD and it is a constant stress. I am doing everything I can to deal with it and support my husband. I have educated myself as best I can. I have a BS in Psychology and I grew up in a very close family with an aunt who has BPD. My husband and i have been together for 7 years and married for a little over one. I feel like I have recieved alot of emotional abuse from her and it makes it difficult to not to dread everytime i have to see her. Like i feel at any time she could just get passive agressive and nasty, to down right freak out. Despite my husband and I both being on the same page nearly all of the time as to how wrong her behaviour is (which took time, effort, communicating, and alot of perspective ), it still is a constant stress and i feel like we have to devote so much time to dealing with her. The damage she has caused and all her stunts , even with not seeing her much in person. Trying to deal with her in the most appropriate way as possible is always hard. Weighing healthy boundries with her ultimate retaliation to healt