Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 26, 2024, 09:21:28 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: My Niece  (Read 360 times)
therapistaunt
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Family other

« on: February 12, 2019, 10:58:08 PM »

Hello - my 16 (nearly 17) year old niece almost certainly has BPD.  I am a licensed therapist myself, so I know that she cannot technically be diagnosed with BPD until age 18.  However, she has been a very challenging child for as long as I can remember, and my gut tells me that she has BPD. Talking to my niece a few days ago, she told me that her therapist thinks she has BPD as well.  The past 6 months have been hell - and it's been horrible seeing my brother suffer as a result of my niece's behavior.  Having said that, I have been doing lots of research for my own info about her, and my clinical practice, and I am finding more compassion.  I understand now that it is a neurological condition, and symptoms are often present as young as age 5 (they were).  I understand that it is largely genetic. I want to try to move toward my niece, not away from her, as I have been doing for years.  I hope that belonging to this forum will help me  with that. Thanks.
HappyChappy

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent

« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2019, 06:28:58 AM »

Hi Therapistaunt