Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 29, 2024, 10:50:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Could it be BPD
BPDFamily.com Production
Listening to shame
Brené Brown, PhD
What is BPD?
Blasé Aguirre, MD
What BPD recovery looks like
Documentary
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I've realized I need to get out of this relationship  (Read 973 times)
Cnvi

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner
Relationship status: Broken Up

« on: January 28, 2021, 06:01:33 PM »

This is my first time talking to almost anyone besides my girlfriends mother and my own parents about her drug issues, and her BPD issues. I'm in my early 30's and she's in her late 20's.

My girlfriend has been grappling addiction since early into our relationship and has a history of substance abuse since she was 14, she was a hermit when we got together but I tried to bring her out of her shell, we partied together and I brought her out to socialize with friends and to some parties, but she slowly became gripped by substance abuse and retreated into her shell more and more, not wanting to socialize at all (she trusts no one / wants no friends / everyone hates her) and essentially forcing me to not socialize with my friends, or making me feel bad for seeing them afterwards.