Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 12, 2024, 03:06:23 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Could it be BPD
BPDFamily.com Production
Listening to shame
Brené Brown, PhD
What is BPD?
Blasé Aguirre, MD
What BPD recovery looks like
Documentary
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What to do For you Thought for the day  (Read 408 times)
co.jo

« on: March 16, 2014, 03:33:00 PM »

I just had a thought- so many people are advising parents to take care of ourselves, find something to bring us pleasure, etc. No one has mentioned this obvious idea-learn an instrument! I am a music teacher, and also learned to play the organ a few years ago. Learning an instrument is almost like a meditation in that it requires all of your brain, and takes you away from the cares of the moment. Bonus- it's fun! No instrument? No problem! solid (and heavy) old pianos are usually available in online ads for cheap to free, and we all have an instrument that is free- our voice. Take lessons, join in a choir, heck if we all lived in the same city we could be the BPDP Choir!

Guarantee you will feel better after making music.
Our objective is to better understand the struggles our child faces and to learn the skills to improve our relationship and provide a supportive environment and also improve on our own emotional responses, attitudes and effectiveness as a family leaders
jellibeans

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Child

« Reply #1 on: March 16, 2014, 04:10:21 PM »

I think that is a great idea... . I have no musical abilities but some people might have this this talent slide and they rekindle it again.