Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 16, 2024, 10:42:11 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
How would a child understand?
Shame, a Powerful, Painful and Potentially Dangerous Emotion
Was Part of Your Childhood Deprived by Emotional Incest?
Have Your Parents Put You at Risk for Psychopathology
Resentment: Maybe She Was Doing the...
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Struggling with BPD NPD Sister  (Read 372 times)
naiveoptimist
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Sibling

« on: October 08, 2018, 01:29:40 PM »

Hi,

I am new to this online community.  I've been in therapy for over a year and have experienced a lot of transformation, but I can't seem to come to grips with my relationship with my sister who has BPD traits and NPD traits.  My sister and I are close in age and have had a close relationship my entire life until a year ago.  I am younger, however most people that didn't know us growing up think that I am the older sister because of the dynamic of our relationship.  I realize now that our relationship was close in proximity - living together and spending time together, however I never felt like I could tell her anything.  In fact there were many things I felt like I couldn't tell her.  My whole family feels this way regarding her too.  It's like an open secret, but no one would dare say anything to her because no one wants the wrath of her.  The times I did mention certain things or expressed an opposing point of view, she would yell at me and tell me I wasn't supportive of her and that no one in our family was supportive of her.  I don't feel like I can have an honest conversation with her.