Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
July 01, 2024, 02:30:19 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Help with Validation  (Read 452 times)
Indiana

What is your sexual orientation: Straight

« on: March 25, 2013, 07:34:41 AM »

I am very new at this, but my wife of 17 years appears to exhibit many BPD traits.

Validation has been suggested, but I would like some advice on exactly how to respond to her.

For example, she does not like our house because it is older.  It is in good condition and clean, but it is an old house   She just texted me complaining that she doesn't want our daughter's friends to visit because our house is a dump.  She is very upset and once again has suggested that there is no hope for our relationship.

How should I reply to her?

Thank you.

RELATIONSHIP PROBLEM SOLVING
This is a high level discussion board for solving ongoing, day-to-day relationship conflicts. Members are welcomed to express frustration but must seek constructive solutions to problems. This is not a place for relationship "stay" or "leave" discussions. Please read the specific guidelines for this group.

Rockylove

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2013, 08:24:31 AM »

Validation has been suggested, but I would like some advice on exactly how to respond to her.