Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 27, 2024, 05:47:57 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: dealing with a BPD breakup and major disillusionment  (Read 460 times)
boboon
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Ex-romantic partner

« on: July 24, 2016, 05:16:44 AM »

I'm new at this and kinda a technophobe. But I have been struggling to make sense of what has happened in my relationship. A brief history follows. Myself I am a recovering alcoholic. After 4 years of sobriety, my girlfriend from 42 years ago found me. I am 65. I had been living alone for 16 years, sorta gave up that part of my once busy romantic life. I was crazy about her back then. Met her in the late sixties. She was an emancipated child of 14. I was 19. I didn't at first know how old she was. She was experienced, living on the streets, crashing at "hippie pads" That kinda thing. Her mother had abandoned her at 3. Her father was terminally ill. He went so far as to "appoint" me her rescuer. We went out to get him lunch one day and came back to find him dead. She was able to get a legal guardian, so she didn't have to live with relatives that had consistently sexually abused her from the age of 3. The guardians moved to Calif., as did she and I followed. We had a tumultuous relationship fueled by sexual attraction. she went on to adventures on her own. Went to S America. Got pregnant.