Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 26, 2024, 04:01:31 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First Post Please help me to understand if this is BPD & if so what should I do?  (Read 269 times)
Pnyjt
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Child
Relationship status: Estranged

« on: December 08, 2022, 05:23:28 PM »

I'm new to any support group, but recently have become increasingly desperate, so I am hoping someone here can give me some insight into what is going on & whether it sounds like BPD.  If so, how should I proceed... carry on trying to make contact, or cut contact altogether.  

Here goes...

My 38-year old son has stopped all communication with me for the last 2+ years and I suspect he may have a personality disorder.

He has stopped us from seeing our 3 granddaughters too (they are 6, 4, and 2), & seems to be controlling his wife in this.  She sends photos etc. of them to us.  People who have spoken to her say she is sympathetic to us & has spoken to him many times, but he will not change his mind.

Our other two children & family members do not want to challenge him about this, as they are afraid they will receive the same treatment.

My feelings swing between feeling that I can live with it & be patient until his children grown up.   Other times I cannot get thoughts of suicide out of my mind, as life does not seem to have any point.