Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
June 16, 2024, 01:03:00 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: No contact; is it mature?  (Read 985 times)
johnnyonthespot

« on: January 08, 2013, 09:50:06 PM »

I read the truths/  legends post with great interest (thanks Skip).

When I started seeing my current therapist about 6 months ago, shortly after breaking up with ex-BPD-gf for the umpteenth but last time, he suggested quite emphatically that I had to go NC.

I really struggled with this advise. As a critical care physician, I see loved ones stripped away from family and friends suddenly every day. I see firsthand the emotional devastation, the regret, the despair, the anger and denial. So I couldn't conceive how NC, a 'voluntary' death of sorts, was a rational, mature approach. Given how precious life is, I couldn't understand how imposing these childish defenses would help me, or her.

Now, six months later, I really do believe it has helped my recovery to be NC. i was absolutely crushed at the onst, but now i function. i was almost debilitated by mood swings between anger and despair, but now im frequently happy. I miss her like crazy; I still dream about her regularly. I'm still very angry, but I'm recognizing more and more me role in the dance. moreover, the one time I did allow NC to be broken, it really set me back emotionally ( mostly anger). I refused to answer the phone thereafter.