Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 28, 2024, 02:43:43 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Where do I start?  (Read 356 times)
Southern_Belle

What is your sexual orientation: Straight

« on: March 07, 2013, 01:09:58 AM »

Hi everyone!

I'm new to this message board. I joined last week and posted in the Introduce Yourself section of the forum. At first I didn't know which section I'd post in. I thought it would be in the Undecided forum, but here I am now.

My story is similar to all of yours. When I read the forum, I think to myself, "I dealt with the same exact thing!" or "I experienced that, too."

I fell in love with someone who has BPD. We had a relationship for 3 years and lived together during some of it. For a good portion of our relationship I didn't know he was BPD. I had never done any research about it and didn't have the knowledge of the disorder as a reference point. So, I made many mistakes!

On the other hand, we had A LOT of good times together and he could be very tender and loving, too.

Then there were other times... .  the raging, extreme jealousy, projection, splitting, and lying. Some of his behavior was outright abusive! 

With him it seemed like left was right, up was down, and I didn't know whether I was coming or going with him. Everything I did was never enough. Total crazy-making behavior!

He hated all of my friends and had no interest in getting to know my family.

He'd get angry if I went out of town, especially to visit my family.