Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 18, 2024, 10:27:49 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Things I couldn't have known
Supporting a Child in Therapy for Borderline Personality Disorder
Anosognosia and Getting a "Borderline" into Therapy
Am I the Cause of Borderline Personality Disorder?
Emotional Blackmail: Fear, Obligation and Guilt (FOG)
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Glad to Be Here  (Read 373 times)
NorCAMom

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Child

« on: January 11, 2017, 03:31:51 PM »

I am new to the message board, and am glad for the opportunity to connect with others who understand what it's like to try to parent an adult child with BPD.

My BPD daughter is 27. She began self-harming before age 2 by continually scratching her cheeks until they bled. She developed anorexia at age 16, began binge drinking around 18, then suffered with bulimia and extreme alcohol abuse until about a year and a half ago. She also has extreme anxiety, self-loathing, and bouts of depression. Like many BPD sufferers from what I understand, my daughter is also extremely intelligent and can be quite witty and charming.