Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 19, 2024, 03:54:33 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Regressed BPDh considering temp. separate living? Yes/no  (Read 358 times)
PeaceHeart

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« on: January 21, 2017, 04:20:45 PM »

Hi, this is my first time posting here after recently discovering my husband has BPD. We've been together 6 years, a roller coaster, his emotional rages have been an issue since the beginning. I thought maybe he was bipolar, then I thought it could be intermittent explosive disorder, he also suffers from alcohol addiction and has been in and out of treatment for many years. My mother-in-law was an amazing support and she sadly passed away suddenly last year triggering the most regressed BPD symptoms in my husband. Years of sobriety gone, near daily rages, hints at sucidical thoughts, also dysregulated sleep schedule (staying up all night several nights a week), not knowing what day of the week it is, daily panic attacks, the list goes on... .We recently started seeing a new couples therapist who confirmed my husbands BPD and I feel like the therapist is encouraging me to leave the relationship or take space from it. We have two young kids and although I agree that our children shouldn't live in an unhealthy environment with someone suffering mental health issues, I also don't want to set-up my husband for disaster by sending him off to live separately right now when he is unable to care for himself fully, I also don't