Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 18, 2024, 08:24:57 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Books members most read
The High
Conflict Couple
Loving Someone with
Borderline Personality Disorder
Loving the
Self-Absorbed
Borderline Personality
Disorder Demystified

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Better self care  (Read 1071 times)
Lollypop

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Child

« on: September 17, 2018, 02:20:03 AM »

In the past, especially in the chaotic years I got physically sick. The stress and tension I felt, that never went away, took its toll on both my physical and mental health. I’m still learning self-care and to be honest it’s quite a challenge.

I watched a TED talk this morning called The Happy Secret to Better Work and it says that we can become happier very simply. We can train ourselves!

Date: 2011Minutes: 12:14

The happy secret to better work ~ Shawn Achor

I did the The Oxford Happiness Questionnaire

The Oxford Happiness Project
School of Psychology
Oxford Brookes University, Headington Campus
Gipsy Lane, Oxford OX3 0BP, UK.

I’ve got some work to do!

Taken not too seriously, with a lightness of touch I think there’s something I can learn.

1. Develop a gratitude practice - list 3 things you’re grateful for from past 24 hours
2. Focus on the good - explain in detail a positive experience in past 24 hours
3. Pay it forward - list 3 kindnesses you’ve shown in past 24 hours
4. Remember the good - recall a happy memory
5. Get your blood pumping - 20 min exercise
6. Calm the mind - meditate by focussing on the present 5 mins