Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 26, 2024, 11:55:46 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
How would a child understand?
Shame, a Powerful, Painful and Potentially Dangerous Emotion
Was Part of Your Childhood Deprived by Emotional Incest?
Have Your Parents Put You at Risk for Psychopathology
Resentment: Maybe She Was Doing the...
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First Post - Creating a Space for Taking a Break From uBPD Mother  (Read 823 times)
Person2

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent
Relationship status: No contact

« on: January 23, 2020, 11:51:29 AM »

I’m new to BPDFamily, and I’m very grateful that such a place exists! Dealing with a parent who suffers with BPD is really isolating. Although there are now many good books and sites to learn more about the disorder, finding others to discuss this with is hard. I look forward to being part of this community and supporting this site.

I’ve found going through the posts on this site to be very enriching.

Although my mother has not been officially diagnosed with BPD (though she claims to be diagnosed as Bipolar), after my doing a significant amount of reading about BPD, I feel confident that she does suffer from BPD. As those on this site are familiar with, this disorder has wrecked havoc with my childhood and with our relationship.

As I approach my 60’s, I’ve come to a point that I can no longer give anymore of myself to this relationship as it currently functions. It feels as if she’s consumed my being for these last 50 some years, and I’m looking for getting to know myself and having a little peace in my last phase of life.