Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
March 29, 2024, 10:28:24 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Expert insight for adult children
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
Listening to shame
Brené Brown, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
How to spot a liar
Pamela Meyer
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Advice for setting boundaries? (Long post)  (Read 429 times)
Josie2020

What is your sexual orientation: Confidential
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent
Relationship status: daughter/ lives apart but visits a lot

« on: April 01, 2020, 09:39:26 PM »

So I’m new to this community but I’ve been knowing that my mom has had BPD for about 5 years now. What made me start doing my research is that her sister has it and she was reading “stop walking on eggshells.” And I thought “that’s how I feel when around her.”  This is when I looked up the disorder and was shocked but relieved and validated to find out that I was not alone, and there was a reason for my pain.  From explosive rages, screaming fights that lasted from hours to days at a time, that would alternate with her being nice but extremely controlling, intrusive.  So on her good days. she is still controlling and very invasive. She did not exhibit substance abuse and hurtful words only happened during an episode (other than the constant criticism of very neutral things).  I’ve been through the false accusations and getting questioned for hours and hours until I finally gave up and basically “falsely confessed” to something I didn’t even do/lie about. This has happened thousands of times. Sound familiar? That is a summary of my high school years and even has happened throughout college. The trigg