Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 19, 2024, 10:13:15 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Things I couldn't have known
Supporting a Child in Therapy for Borderline Personality Disorder
Anosognosia and Getting a "Borderline" into Therapy
Am I the Cause of Borderline Personality Disorder?
Emotional Blackmail: Fear, Obligation and Guilt (FOG)
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Looking for a strategy to address verbal abuse  (Read 461 times)
NanaSue
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Inlaw
Relationship status: Married

« on: September 25, 2021, 10:34:13 PM »

Hi, it's my first time posting here, so I thought I'd start small.  My DIL is diagnosed with BPD, and at times will make comments in my presence like "All teachers are idiots" (knowing full well that I am one myself).  Often, she'll follow it up with "That sounded rude, didn't it?" then laugh it off unapologetically.  Since reading the "Eggshells" workbook, I know this type of thing is typical of a BP, but I didn't find that most of the strategies there --which are also ones I use at school-- would work in my situation.  If a student crosses the boundary of appropriate behaviour, I can send them out of the room for time out.  They are motivated to want to return to their friends, so it works to improve the behaviour.  If I tell my DIL to leave, it just gives her a bigger wedge to drive between us and our son (who consistently takes her side), and she is not motivated to return, so the behaviour is unchanged AND the relationship with our son worsens.  But in my own home, if I'm the one to walk away, it feels like she's getting away with being ru