Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 29, 2024, 06:18:48 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Skills we were never taught
A 3 Minute Lesson
on Ending Conflict
Communication Skills-
Don't Be Invalidating
Listen with Empathy -
A Powerful Life Skill
Setting Boundaries
and Setting Limits
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Now I'm the one with BPD  (Read 1006 times)
JustJay

What is your sexual orientation: Straight

« on: December 22, 2012, 10:14:54 AM »

Hi everyone, this is my first post out of the introductions category. I am very new to dealing with any of these issues and could really use your help. Recently my fiancé who's been diagnosed with BPD has ended our engagement and moved out if our house. We are trying to fix our relationship but it feels like we take one step forward and 3 steps back. She is in a bad place right now and admits to feeling a lot of anxiety and depression. She feels lost and unable to give anything to me or our relationship. I told her that I was trying to learn about BPD and have her links to the resources that I've been looking at. She immediately got very defensive and has asked me if I see any of myself in the definitions of BPD. Of course I do see some, I think almost anyone would see something if they were honest enough. She is saying that I'm pointing the finger at her and saying that she is the problem and that I'm not taking any ownership of the breakdown of our relationship. Help me please. I have taken more than my fair share of ownership and don't know where to go from here or how to have a conversation without making her feel defensive. She's a social worker and has had clients with BPD as well as having it herself so when I do