Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 19, 2024, 07:23:53 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: How to tell if my mom has BPD  (Read 493 times)
dogwasher

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent

« on: February 13, 2017, 10:28:39 PM »

Hi.  This is my first post here and I'm not very experienced with forums, but I am trying to follow the guidelines!

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder 4 years ago.  As an adult child of a mom with what I until recently thought was just anxiety issues, I've had a very up-and-down relationship with my mom from the time I was honestly 7 until now. 

My sister has apparently always seemed to know something was not right with my mom, but I never really thought about it like something was actually wrong with her.  In the past few weeks with some extra-troubling events with my mom having occurred, my sister has mentioned to me that in reading countless articles online, BPD seems to really fit my mom.  After that, I've read many articles on it, and it does seem to fit.

Even with hours googling how to find out if she really does have BPD, I still find myself so lost.  For years I have struggled with my own emotions, so finally getting some validation that I'm not the only "messed up" one would mean so much, but I'm so lost on how to do that.