Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 25, 2024, 07:44:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Survey: How do you compare?
Adult Children Sensitivity
67% are highly sensitive
Romantic Break-ups
73% have five or more recycles
Physical Hitting
66% of members were hit
Depression Test
61% of members are moderate-severe
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Hi, I'm new  (Read 374 times)
Amygriz

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent

« on: February 14, 2017, 09:05:44 AM »

I'm a psychologist and I just had an epiphany last night that my mother has BPD. I didn't realize it for years but now that I named her behavior, so many past and current behaviors of hers make sense. Is there anyone else who is a psychologist who has a mother with BPD? I'd love to hear what your mom was like, how and when you discovered that she has BPD. Txs!
Naughty Nibbler

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Sibling

« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2017, 11:06:10 AM »

Welcome Amygriz:   

I'm sorry that you have had a history of problems with your mom.  Could dealing with these problems, while growing up, have led you to your choice of a profession?  It can bring a bit of relief when the light bulb turns on and you find a label  Thought  Upon reviewing history, the pieces of the puzzle can come together.

You will likely find a few professional members here, but when it comes to dealing with BPD, we all seem to be in a similar boat.  I've found many times with myself, that it can generally be easier to give advice than to take your own.  Being cool (click to insert in post)