Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 27, 2024, 10:52:18 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I feel like I don’t even exist when I’m in the room with her  (Read 417 times)
1Day@ATime
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« on: December 02, 2017, 12:12:45 PM »

So, I’ve never done this before but I’m confused and need support. I’m struggling w a spouse who appears to have borderline traits. I think the thing that first gave it away for me was when I packed my bags to stay at a hotel and she freaked out. I had no idea she even cared. Other symptoms include anger, jabs, and calling me names. When that continued I insisted that she go see a counselor which she did. Her therapist has done a great job helping her with her anger but she is now distracting herself with work and talking with everyone but me. I feel like I don’t even exist when I’m in the room with her. Furthermore, if there’s to be any relationship it’s up to me. I’ll reach out to hold her hand, ask her out on a date each week, write notes, etc. but will rarely see anything in return unless she sees I’m at my wits end. Then I’ll see notes on my car saying how much she loves me. Consequently, I find myself threatening or even going to hotels to see if there’s any part of her that still cares. Unfortunately, I don’t believe she can even see me through her shame and fear of no