Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
March 29, 2024, 02:20:51 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
How would a child understand?
Shame, a Powerful, Painful and Potentially Dangerous Emotion
Was Part of Your Childhood Deprived by Emotional Incest?
Have Your Parents Put You at Risk for Psychopathology
Resentment: Maybe She Was Doing the...
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Parent now sibling with BPD  (Read 352 times)
MartingaleB
Fewer than 3 Posts

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Parent
Relationship status: estranged

« on: January 23, 2020, 12:21:26 AM »

Hello. I am new to BPD Central. This is my first post.

I am the elder of two children of a long suspected but never confirmed BPD+NPD mother. Our family went through a very traumatic time as mother's symptoms ramped up due to various circumstances. Mother was abusive to me, brother, and father through the 90s and early 2000s. Her abuse caused ongoing trauma for each of us. Eventually, through college and beyond, I found myself estranged from mother, and that was honestly for the best. I began to heal in small ways, although not entirely.

In the past 2.5 years, however, my younger brother has been increasingly exhibiting symptoms not only of C-PTSD (which is diagnosed) but also BPD. He has made five suicide attempts during that period. We talk regularly, and I try to be as supportive as I can, but he has isolated himself over time and his support system consists of only me and our father. Most recently, father and I have struggled with getting brother back into therapy and seeing a psychiatrist.