Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 28, 2024, 06:53:36 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Experts share their discoveries [video]
Caretaking - What is it all about?
Margalis Fjelstad, PhD
Blame - why we do it?
Brené Brown, PhD
Family dynamics matter.
Alan Fruzzetti, PhD
A perspective on BPD
Ivan Spielberg, PhD
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: What to work on with therapist?  (Read 392 times)
mitten

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner
Relationship status: Married

« on: March 02, 2022, 09:39:43 AM »

I've been talking to a therapist monthly for the last 2 years about my relationship with my uBPDw.  He has a few clients that have partners with BPD but he doesn't necessarily specialize in it.  The sessions usually start with him asking how I'm doing and what I want to talk about today.  He's super validating and I do feel better after talking to him, however I'm thinking I want more structure in my sessions.  Like goals or specific things to work on.  When he asks me what I want to talk about today what should I say?  I don't want it to be just a monthly vent session but actually work towards some goals...any ideas?

Some things I've asked him about in the past:
How to decide if my uBPDw and I should have a 3rd child
How to not be so afraid of conflict.
How to be more assertive and ask for things I want (see family, friends, do hobbies, etc)
PLEASE - NO RUN MESSAGES