Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
May 02, 2024, 01:31:14 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Books members most read
The High
Conflict Couple
Loving Someone with
Borderline Personality Disorder
Loving the
Self-Absorbed
Borderline Personality
Disorder Demystified

Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: I'm new to Leaving  (Read 380 times)
ts919

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Relationship status: married

« on: August 30, 2013, 12:17:55 PM »

This is my first post on the Leaving board... .

My uBPDw has been given dissolution papers as of two weeks ago; up until last night, she had refused to discuss them with me.  Last night we finally had a "discussion"... . basically me reiterating the point that I was going to divorce her while she cried and begged me not to, then started insulting me, then begging, then making wild claims, then begging... . I'm sure some of you on this board have been through similar if not much worse situations.

Here's my question:  How do you work through the immense guilt?  I mean, watching her last night and refusing to get sucked into the drama, I felt so terrible for her... . and horribly guilty.  I know it's manipulation - she wants me to feel guilty so I will jump back into my caretaker role with her and fix the drama triangle - but it's so hard.  I ended up removing myself from the situation and hanging out with a buddy for a few hours (I had this built in, just in case) and it definitely helped... . but this morning I still feel so guilty. 

Does the guilt eventually go away?
heartandwhole
Retired Staff

Who in your life has "personality" issues: Ex-romantic partner

« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 12:40:09 PM »