Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
April 24, 2024, 08:14:35 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Depression = 72% of members
Take the test, read about the implications, and check out the remedies.
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: First Post - not sure I belong here  (Read 446 times)
CycleBreaker123

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Friend

« on: April 19, 2017, 03:15:47 AM »

This is my first time posting in any sort of self-help community of any kind.   My situation occurs to me as somewhat "lighter" than most of the posts I've encountered here in that the person in my life who has all the classic symptoms of BPD is no longer a romantic partner, nor a spouse, she's really "just" a friend at this point.  We've been friends for six years since our initial romance ended.    We were involved initially, for about 18 months  - 12 months was pretty much ideal, it started as a "casual" connection - basically a "fling", that grew more and more intense over the course of the year.    K was in college at the time, I am somewhat older (10 yrs) and was really not looking for anything serious, or more to the point, I certainly wasn't looking for anything serious with a person so much younger than me.    Things between us started to unravel the very day after I let her know that I was developing more serious feelings for her - the next day we had our first real "fight", and the first time she showed me a truly mean/ugly side to her that I was frankly shocked to discover.   In my world, until that point, people just did not say to each other the type of venomous things she said to me.    It was almost as if she sensed that now I was