Home page of BPDFamily.com, online relationship supportMember registration here
March 29, 2024, 07:53:32 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Board Admins: Kells76, Once Removed, Turkish
Senior Ambassadors: Cat Familiar, EyesUp, SinisterComplex
  Help!   Boards   Please Donate Login to Post New?--Click here to register  
bing
Near or in break-up mode?
What Does it Take to Be in a Relationship
Is Your Relationship Breaking Down?
Escaping Conflict and the Karpman Drama Triangle
Emotional Blackmail: Fear, Obligation and Guilt (FOG)
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Love of my life dx. 9 months ago  (Read 363 times)
Keepingreal

What is your sexual orientation: Straight
Who in your life has "personality" issues: Romantic partner

« on: April 23, 2017, 03:49:19 AM »

Hi, everyone -

This is my first time here. My partner of 6 years was diagnosed in July with BPD after believing he was bipolar for the previous 10 years. Now that I know, all his symptoms and mood changes make so much more sense, but I have had no support or knowledge in how to deal with them. Unfortunately, he has student insurance (he's in a PhD program) that has made finding a psychotherapist difficult; instead, he has recently been seeing a CBT-style counselor and a psychiatrist for anxiety and depression. He hasn't received any real treatment for BPD since diagnosis in a partial hospital program, and I feel like he's just been pretending it isn't there.